RB: What to Expect, Part V: Timeline . . . so far

I started shopping Fallen Redemption around in September 2012. It was my sixth novel. I was well used to rejection already. My normal strategy was to query an agent or a publisher, wait until they responded then send it on to someone new. This worked well until I was knee deep in excitement over my new story (normally four – six months later). I also would realize that my writing had improved a bit and shouldn’t I just wait until this new book was finished to find a publisher or agent? So I only sent out my previous five novels, at the very most, to eight different places. Not very persistent, I know. My plan for Fallen Redemption was different: I would send it out to three different agents and/or publishers a week. I was extremely diligent (for the most part) and followed this system until Soul Mate Publishing expressed their interest. Below is the timeline from when I sent out my query to SMP until now. As this is my first novel to be published, I’m not sure if this is the norm for other publishing houses or even for other SMP authors, but this is how it went for me.

October 3, 2012: I queried SMP, submitting a synopsis and the first three chapters as requested. I’d only been shopping my novel for roughly a month so far. I’d received a few rejections already, but I was still optimistic.

December 3, 2012: SMP expressed interest in Fallen Redemption. They wished to see the complete manuscript. This was the first bite since I started sending it out three months ago. I tried not to get my hopes up and the rejection letters still trickling in made this easy.

December 30, 2012: SMP sent an email. They wanted to publish my book. YEAH!

February 20, 2013: I learned that Fallen Redemption’s tentative release date was set for July 2013.

March 5, 2013: Cheryl, my editor, sent the first round of edits. I opened the document and peeked at the track changes comments through my fingers. The very first thing I learned: I suck at world building. I read over Cheryl’s comments, let the thoughts stew in my head for twenty-four hours, then dug in.

March 10, 2013: I sent Cheryl my new first three chapters of Fallen Redemption for critique.

March 27, 2013: Cheryl had read over the chapters and gave her approval with a few additional directions. Again, I let the thoughts and comments sit for a full day and then began to make my changes.

April 26, 2013: After an exhausting four weeks of editing the entire novel, I was never happier to hit the send button on my email.

April 28, 2013: Cheryl sent me the semi-final galley. Well, it had been nice to have one full day off from working on Fallen Redemption. I’d have enjoyed it more if I knew my break was so short. 😉 Maybe had two or three glasses of wine instead of just one.

May 1, 2013: I sent the manuscript back with the semi-final galley changes completed. This time I didn’t allow myself to visualize all the relaxing I would do in between edits. It was a good thing.

May 1, 2013: Four hours later, Cheryl sent me the final galley edits.

May 3, 2013: I sent back the final galley with edits completed.

I’m not sure what will happen next. I assume final galley, means final. But I also assumed that I would have at least two weeks off after the April 26 submission. Yes, I know what they say about assuming. And yes, I admit it; that was a definite ass moment.

It’s been four days and all is quiet. Here’s hoping the editing process is complete.

2 thoughts on “RB: What to Expect, Part V: Timeline . . . so far

Leave a Reply

