Ella: My Sister Wrote a Book and Now She is Taking a Nap

So in case anyone missed it, RB’s book, Fallen Redemption, came out last week and you can buy it here.  For now, it’s available as an e-book only through Amazon, as part of the Kindle Selects program for $2.99 (free to borrow for Amazon Prime members!).  In three to six months it will also be available through Barnes and Noble for the Nook. It’s supposed to be released in paperback in six months, but I’m hoping they’ll have it out earlier, in time for Christmas, so I can give autographed copies of it to everyone on my list.

Because, dude, my sister published a book. That’s amazing.

She’s taking the week off from posting and I like to imagine that she’s sound asleep on the couch, an empty champagne bottle at her feet, the living room floor covered in balloons and streamers and those plastic vampire fangs you can buy at Halloween, the leftovers from the massive party she totally should have had the day her book came out. (Note to Woodchuck and RB: This is a hint. When it’s my turn, there should be champagne and balloons and witch hats.)

I’m pretty sure she didn’t have that party, though, and I’ll bet you anything she’s not napping right now. Chances are she’s reorganizing the basement or running seven miles or writing another few thousand words of her current WIP, because RB? Not so much with the sitting still and napping.

She’s the baby of the family, five years younger than me, and she was the funniest little girl. Busy. Determined. Organized, even as a toddler. Tough. She used to pull my hair so hard that I’d scream, and then I’d get in trouble for screaming because I was the big sister. When she was three, we—our older sister and I—used to ask her at bedtime what she was going to do the next day and she would give us this very serious, very detailed schedule, right down to what she planned to have for lunch (usually SpaghettiO’s) and who she was going to play with when we got home from school. It’s no surprise that she’s the first one of us to get a publishing contract. People have asked me if I’m jealous—I’m not. I’m really, really proud of her. She’s worked hard for this. I decided when I was eleven that I wanted to be a writer. I worked at it for a while then quit, then started again, then quit again. RB decided that she wanted to be a writer when she was a teenager, and since Bubbles was a baby she’s always been writing a manuscript, or editing a manuscript, or shopping a manuscript around. When Bubbles was little she got up at 5 a.m. to write before her day started. When she comes to visit she brings her laptop and works a little here, a little there. She’s amazing.

She hates having to do this publicity stuff but I’m pretty happy to be her shameless commerce division. She’s worked for it. So please go check out my sister’s book. Buy a copy, borrow a copy, suggest it to a friend, leave a review. But quietly, please, because I’m still hoping she’s taking a nap.

11 thoughts on “Ella: My Sister Wrote a Book and Now She is Taking a Nap

  1. A few weeks ago I stumbled across your blog. I have to say I was so impressed with you and RB and your writing I went out (well, OK, I went to my computer) and bought the book. I read it this past weekend. I really enjoyed it. Today is my first (real) day back in the land of internet and computers so a review will be forthcoming. But kudos to both of you for being awesome writers and to RB for getting published!

  2. Boy As RB’s husband I can say One thing. That is, “she hasn’t changed a bit.” During our extensive 8 year courtship one of the biggest arguments we got into was when I deviated from said plan for the next day. Which I couldn’t understand cause I’m a fly by the seat kind of guy. Well thankfully we worked that out( I now reference her planner to know what we are doing) Anyhow, I wouldn’t want her any other way, I love her and I’m so proud of her.

  3. My last memory of RB is holding her baby hands as I helped her walk around the house. She was so little when we moved. I have read the book and am amazed and proud. BUT the time has come to get off the couch and get busy cause I have to know what happens in the next book. So RB I love you guys but WAKE UP already!!

    • Ella: Hey, “You rush a miracle man, you get rotten miracles.” She’s got the idea, she just needs the time to get it written. 🙂 The last time I saw your kids one of them drooled on me–I just saw a wedding announcement on Mom’s refrigerator. People do the most astonishing amount of growing up when you let a few decades go by without seeing them! 🙂

    • Your enthusiam makes me smile, Cousin! Thank you so much for loving my characters as much as I do. It’s a writers dream. I promise you will be the first to know when my next book is coming out. 🙂 -RB

Leave a Reply

