RB: Finished

I finished writing Callie’s Story.

*pause* (waiting for trumpets to sound. . . the pop of champagne. . . shouts of joy. . . okay, at least some clapping. . . from one person. . .)

Yeah, that’s how I feel. Like I should be shouting for joy. Writing in ALL CAPS because I’m soo excited. But every time I get the tingly feeling in my legs like they want to do a Buffy-the-Vampire-Slayer-Xander-happy-Snoopy-dance I’m dashed with a cold dose of reality. I still have a long way to go until I’m completely finished with Callie. And although I don’t mind editing so much, sometimes (at least in Fallen Redemption’s case) the editing process takes me a lot longer than the writing of it.

Callie is complete at 143,401 words. Longer than FR was. This is the seventh book that I’ve written and each one gets longer than the last. It makes me wonder how long my books will be in ten years. Will my readers need assistance just to pick it up off the shelf? Ha! But, yet again, here comes the shivering: I will probably knock off at least ten percent of those words after editing. Which is fine, the story will be better for it.

I’m letting Callie sit for about three weeks before I begin. This is important. The distance will allow me to see more mistakes and areas that need improvement. Then I’ll start by reading the story from beginning to end. I plan to send the document to my Kindle for this step. This, too, is important. If I try to read the story on my computer, I’ll be unable to stop myself from making corrections as I go. The Kindle stops this from happening. And it’s best if I lock away all writing utensils and paper-type substances, too.

After the initial read through, I will begin by fixing plot and characterization holes. The next step will be to follow along with my notes from the online class Before You Hit Send. Fallen Redemption was the first novel that I used with these notes, and most of you know, Fallen Redemption was my first publication. I’m not saying one hundred percent that this class is the reason why I was published, but it certainly holds a good chunk of that percentage. Editing is just as important to a novel as characterization and plotting.

Despite my current, sometimes chilly, mood regarding Callie’s Story, I have a good feeling about this one. I always thought the standard author line, “I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it” was a bit dopey. But I get it now. I thoroughly enjoyed struggling along with Callie. She became a part of me in this story. And I can’t wait for her to become a part of someone else’s life, too.

Links:

I recommend that all writers take this class. It’s well worth the money. http://nicemommy-evileditor.com/before-you-hit-send/

There’s great editing advice on this site, too. http://blog.janicehardy.com/

And just because it’s fun. 🙂  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57M4OhdsAFM

7 thoughts on “RB: Finished

  1. Congrats! I love feeling the way you do right now … Hopefully I’m only a few weeks away from that feeling myself. I’ve never done a read-through without writing in changes as I go … It sounds like a good idea. I think I might do that this next go round …

    • 🙂 I used my Kindle a few times during the editing process with my last novel. It was a great way to distance myself from my work. -RB

Leave a Reply

