RB: Story, it’s everywhere

A paper towel caught fire from my toaster oven today. Completely unintentional and unexpected, as I suppose most fires are.

I carefully cared the burning paper to the sink and sprayed it down with water. In less than ten seconds the catastrophe was adverted. As I watched the last of the flames get doused by water a great story idea came to me. It was like the fire itself. Startling, full of heat, and ready to consume. I love it when that happens.

All in all, I don’t think causing fires are such a bad thing. Husband has yet to see my side of the situation, though… Maybe it’s just a writer thing.

Helpful links:

http://www.writersdigest.com/online-editor/5-ways-to-come-up-with-great-story-ideas

http://blog.janicehardy.com/2013/07/an-easy-tip-for-developing-story-ideas.html

http://www.ehow.com/way_5347317_toaster-oven-fire-prevention.html

4 thoughts on “RB: Story, it’s everywhere

  1. It’s amazing how we come up with our story ideas, isn’t it? Something so simple like the odd way someone looks at you at the gym to a small catastrophic event like a fire starting from one’s toaster oven. Most of my ideas come from my dreams which is why I always have a journal on my nightstand next to my bed. As long as your house is still intact, there is nothing wrong with a little incident to spice up a great story!

    • I had a dream turn into a story idea, too. The “dream” scene that spurned the idea never actually made it into the story though. Ha. But I guess it fulfilled its purpose. Thanks for stopping by. -RB

  2. Ha ha like a fire starter a natural pyromaniac. Watching a flame being alive consuming all that is around. Dancing across the surfaces and through the air. Sparkling when it spreads it little seeds in the wind.
    Oops now what does that make me. And as long as the house keep standing it is okay to star a little fire right 😀 Use a barbecue.
    keep smiling.
    See the world in a grain of sand, right.

    • Thanks, Ranting. 🙂 I knew I wasn’t the only one who would see accidentally starting a fire wasn’t so bad. HeHe Beautiful prose by the way: “Watching a flame being alive consuming all that is around. Dancing across the surfaces and through the air. Sparkling when it spreads it little seeds in the wind.” -RB

Leave a Reply

