RB: Seriously, Series

You know the moment when you finish a book. The characters are swimming in your head. Emotions are flying. You can practically feel the warmth of love the characters had for each other ( if you read romance). The story is alive! (It’s a AALLLIVVE!) And you’re eager for more, but that damn writer left you hanging on a ledge wondering what was going to happen next.

You might ask yourself at this point, standing in the bathroom, toothbrush in hand, staring at yourself in the mirror, eyes trained on the dark circles under your eyes because you couldn’t put the book down so you only had three hours of sleep: “How will I go through my normal, every day life after this? I neeeeed to know what happens!”

Then twelve months pass and the next book in the series is finally out, except all of those overwhelming emotions you felt when you turned the final page of the last book are gone. You remember that you really liked the book. Bits of the plot are still floating around in your  head…

…but all the little pieces gone. The excited feeling in your chest when the hero and heroine exchanged words for the first time. Then again during their continued flirty banter. The moment they finally kissed. The way you felt when the hero looked into the heroine’s eyes, and both yours and her breath caught. The worry that their union is forbidden and will she still risk it all for him.

Yep, all of that is gone. Because it’s been twelve freakin’ months and you’ve read dozens of books since then.

But you want it all back. You want those same indescribable emotions running through you when you crack open the first page of that new book.

You do, don’t you?

I know I do.

Which is why I will then shelve the new book until I read every book before it in the series. Sometimes I’ll only read the last book. Sometimes I’ll skim all of the books and just stop at the “good” parts like I’m watching Breaking Dawn on DVD and using the Jump to Edward feature. But most of the time I read all of them from front to cover. I want the whole experience. I want to feel it all again. Fall in lust and then love. Gasp softly when he first kisses her and it’s so unexpected. Sigh when she finally tells him “Yes, I love you, too.”

Then when I finally open the cover of the new book, I can lean back and sigh as Jerry Maguire’s words whisper through my head, “you complete me”.

Until, of course, I get to the end and I’m left with another damn cliff.

Seriously!?!

Helpful links, or not really helpful just links to book series that I love. 🙂

http://www.goodreads.com/series/46385-lords-of-the-underworld

http://www.richellemead.com/books

http://www.laraadrian.com/midnight_breed_series.php

13 thoughts on “RB: Seriously, Series

  1. I haven’t read too many series, but I can’t read them out of order. Luckily I didn’t start the Harry Potter series until the 7th one was released since I devoured them all at once.

    • Yes, Harry Potter is a good series. One that I have read more than twice. It’s also a book to movie adaptation that I didn’t find too much fault with. -RB

  2. Haha I know this feeling well– thankfully, I’m usually late to the game when reading series and there are several waiting for me to catch up. I’m pretty sure that “Catching Fire” was one of the most “woah woah what! endings for me…. May have had to call in sick to work to finish the last book after that!

    • Ha! Love it. And I may or may not have brought Breaking Dawn into work and hid it underneath a notebook because I couldn’t stop reading it. 😉 -RB

    • Awesome, I found a series-mate. Ha. 🙂 I haven’t heard about Wheel of Time. I will have to check it out. Thanks for stopping by. -RB

  3. YES! I have such a love/hate relationship with series. I love revisiting favorite characters but hate the wait in between. I have a Midnight Breed and a Black Dagger Brotherhood book in my Kindle App just waiting to be read…but I can’t get myself to commit.

    And I giggled at the BD2/Jump To reference. I’ve often said they should have added that feature to the DVD/Blu-Ray for “Magic Mike” so viewers could skip the iffy plot and go right to the dancing. LOL

    Great post!

    • Oooh, I love the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. I actually don’t mind re-reading some of those books. And yes they should have had a jump to feature for Magic Mike, LOL. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by! -RB

  4. Does that mean series should not have 12 months in between. or just be forbidden :P. Or could it be only a pair at most.
    But I understand what you are saying. writers are to slow.
    weird to, that even if you decide to reread the earlier book it doesn’t feel he same like the first time you read it.

    • Oh, no. I like series. I do! And really, it will probably take me twelve months if not longer to finish the second book of my series, The Trihune, so I shouldn’t complain. But I know what will happen in Trihune. The characters live in my head, so I can’t possibly forget them. It just sucks when I finish a book in a series and I caaan’t wait for the next one. I just have no patience when it comes to that stuff. Not that it helps. I still have to wait. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by! -RB

Leave a Reply

