RB: What does it say about me?

I wanted to like The Lord of the Rings. I really did. I gave it a real go. Read the first hundred pages. I just couldn’t get into it and finally switched it for a Gena Showalter novel.

I’ve often wondered if my lack of interest in society’s ideas of really great authors will lead to my downfall as a writer.

In my mind, authors devour books by Tolkien, Dickens, and Austen. They read nonfiction as often as fiction. They quote Shakespeare and Faulkner in their works. Recite Yeats and Frost by the light of the fire. Host dinner parties and say fabulous literary things at the table that have guests smiling and nodding, whispering among themselves “no wonder she’s a successful author”.

Sigh.

I’m just not that person.

What does it say about me, as an author, that I only enjoy books written no less than thirty years ago?

10 thoughts on “RB: What does it say about me?

  1. Lord of the Rings takes a long, long time to get going. It would have been a completely different book if it had been edited down, but I think there are books for everyone. I got through the start and loved it, but now I skip straight to where things get going, because much as I love the descriptions I don’t actually need to read them twice.
    There’s a classic for everyone as well. Shakespeare was writing the equivalent of Eastenders and shouldn’t be taken too seriously. I lightly judge anyone who does, to be honest, because those plays are more full of dick jokes than a Dick Whittington panto. Same with Chaucer and most folk songs.

    • Before I put LOTR away, I did consider skimming pages until I reached a good part, but then was afraid I’d miss something important. LOL. In the end it was the need to make a connection with characters I can somewhat relate to, wanting a bit of romance in my story, and Gena Showalter that made the decision to put it down. Who knows, maybe I’ll pick it up again one day…

      Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your comment, especially about Shakespeare. Ha! -RB

  2. Haha they’re JUST like books from today – some you love, some you hate. The Hobbit is one of my favorite books, but I can never seem to get into LOTR. Some classics I love, some are not my cup of tea 🙂 I have never seen the rule that says as authors we have to like other authors’ work.

    • Hey Lisen, it’s just my own insecurities coming through. My own imposed rules of what successful authors do. It seems like I’m the only one that thinks like that, at least of those who visit the 2unpubs blog. 😉 I appreciate the support. -RB

  3. I really think it just has to do with your interests. I love stuff like LOTR, The Hobbit, etc., but cannot get into Austen. She’s just not my thing. Doesn’t make her a bad author, just means I like . . . other stuff. 🙂 You too.

    • Thanks, J.R. I love the LOTR movies, which is why I thought I’d love the books. I always enjoy the book more than the movie adaptation. I find it easier to connect to words on a page than scenes on a screen. Not in this case, I guess. :/ Thanks for stopping by. -RB

  4. It says that you can come sit by me so we can discuss Ms. Showalter’s latest novel. I no longer beat myself up about my disinterest in classics. I’ve read some of them and enjoyed most of the ones I read, but these days I read for fun. I get enough drama and trauma at work. I read to escape that.
    I have read Lord of the Rings, though it was in high school. I probably wouldn’t have pushed myself through that massive tome if it weren’t an assignment. And that did turn out to be one of my favorite classes.

Leave a Reply

