RB: No Desire To Read

I firmly believe writers should read first and foremost. My favorite way to pass the time is to be so immersed in a book that the world around me dissolves.

But it’s been weeks since I made it past the first chapter of any book. Nothing has drawn me in. Romance. Paranormal. Young Adult. Middle Grade.  Indie Author. Favorite Author. New Author. Re-reading an old fav.

I’m completely baffled and a bit frustrated. I want to mentally engage with some fictional characters, dammit. There’s only so many Banshee and Downton Abbey episodes I can watch.

It’s the perfect time, too. I’m in the middle of a two week get-distance-from-current-WIPs-so-I-can-edit-better break.

So, what’s my problem? Why does nothing appeal to me?

Has this ever happened to you? Do you have a favorite author or novel that may cure my horrible reading dry spell?

19 thoughts on “RB: No Desire To Read

  1. I feel the same way, currently I’m looking at my bookcases wondering what the hell to read. I could pick up anything and get immersed in it as if it were my first time reading it, but for some reason I either don’t want to or I find other things to do. I need to get back in to reading, big style. It’s been two weeks since I finished The Fault In Our Stars for the fifth time, and I feel lost without a good book to bury myself in

  2. YES! THIS HAPPENED TO ME A COUPLE MONTHS AGO! Aaaak, it’s maddening! I checked out about 50 pounds of books, put them on my bedside table, picked up each one and tried—and failed. Until I finally found one that engaged me. Also, I tried Orphan Master’s Son last summer and it bounced right off me, but Santa brought me my own copy and I devoured it. Could. Not. Put. It. Down. I just think our brains sometimes need a break, and that’s okay. Don’t should on yourself.

  3. I must say, this never happens to me. I work in a library and order fiction and I’m constantly seeing books I want to read. My advice would be to go to our local library or a bookstore and just browse. Or, if you don’t have time for that, browse your local library’s on-line catalog for new materials. It’s much less overwhelming than looking for books in an on-line bookstore because there are fewer choices and if you search by what’s new, you may discover a new genre that interests you.

  4. I hit this phenomenon once in a while. For me, it’s because I’ve overloaded on a genre or have read a few disappointing books in a row. It always passes, but it’s nice to know I’m not alone.

  5. I’ve seen that dry spell as well. It lasted for years and coincided with a period in my life where I was so busy with everyone and everything, that I lost track of myself. I know I hated it, not being able to read more than a page without being distracted. I think your sister is right, take a break, take some time for yourself. Take care.

  6. This happens to me at times. One you might enjoy is the latest by Fannie Flagg: The Last All-Girl Filling Station Reunion. I found it to be hugely insightful in looking at who we are, what we believe, what we’ve been led to believe, and all through the eyes of a middle aged woman. Sounds dull, but it’s far from it. Some good humor. No spoilers. : )

  7. Ella: I’m going to say what I always say about stuff like this. You need a break, Babycakes (the “Babycakes” is courtesy of Bubbles, age 3). You work full time, you have a child, a house, a husband, a dog, and you’re writing 2 books and promoting a third. Frankly, I think I need a nap just from listing all that stuff. Follow your bliss and just play for a while.

  8. I am a terrible reader. If the first chapter does not appeal to me i could struggle my way through but that just make it even worse.
    Yes i am a very selective reader. And lately my fav writer hasn’t been in top shape. So I read even less

    And guess sometimes we just cannot see any more letters as it makes us feel like an alphabet mesh-up pasta dish out of our brain.

Leave a Reply

