RB: Are you able to make an incredible, can’t-put-it-down-or-you-may-die novel last?

I went to Barnes and Noble last weekend. Felt a bit guilty for cheating on Kindle, but there’s something about holding a book in my hands while I’m reading. It’s more personable. I’m able to enter the author’s world that much quicker.

I came home with books 1 and 2 of Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series.

I read both in less than twenty-four hours.

I ignored my weekend chores, because who needs clean clothes when Cat and Bones are fighting evil or getting it on? It’s a good thing Bubbles is self sufficient, because she was pretty much left to her own devices for the day. ( So not gonna win parent of year again. Sigh.) There was no posting, no liking or sharing, no tweeting, no Facebooking, no editing (gasp!). I even had yogurt for lunch because it was easy to grab and only had to take my eyes off the page for a second.

Moping began on Sunday at 10:32 am. I finished the novels. Didn’t have book 3. Nothing else on my shelf appealed to me. Husband was aghast when he learned I read both of them. (Seriously, have we not been together for over ten years?) He gave me his my-wife-is-a-bit-crazy smile and said, “Next time you should make them last.”

. . . um . . .

I love Husband, but he’s not a reader. Maybe he’d understand the situation if I put it in terms of when he watched his first episode of Breaking Bad at the end of season two. And then had a Netflix Breaking Bad marathon for about a week, which resulted in this when he was all caught up and had to wait months for the new one to start. 

Make it last post

Yeah. “Make it last.” Pfft.

6 thoughts on “RB: Are you able to make an incredible, can’t-put-it-down-or-you-may-die novel last?

  1. I can never make books last. 😦 Yesterday I sat down and chugged through Marissa Meyer’s latest book in The Lunar Chronicles. I finished it all in six hours. Then I realised I have to wait until next year for the fourth and final book. Commence agonized wailing.

  2. I suffer through anxiety attacks, sleepless nights, eating binges, and nervous tremors when I don’t have 4 to 5 new books lined up on a shelf in my office or waiting on my Kindle. When writing, I sometimes comfort myself when the words won’t come, by reaching up to the nearby bookshelf and running my hands across the wonders awaiting me. And when I fall in love with a book, I’m all in, and then go through mourning and withdrawal when I finish. Thank you for helping me realize I’m not alone.

  3. I concur.

    Take it from another die hard reader.

    It is impossible. If it’s good then it would be impossible to make it last. You want more. You need more. More is there to take so you take it.

    And before you know your royally screwed cos your book is finished and there are months to wait for the next one to come out.

    So I say to you – and your husband.

    😛 to making it last. Enjoy the finer things in life while you can right?

Leave a Reply

