RB: Favorite Genre

I’ve been hooked on romance novels ever since I borrowed my first one from Heather Z. in seventh grade to giggle (and blush) over the romantic (read: sex) scenes.

Blush

Once I started reading more than the “good” parts, I fell in love with the characters. Their experiences became my dreams. I cried when they cried. My cheeks burned with their embarrassment.

I think this was when I started to create my own stories in my head. Late at night. When I yearned to fall in love just like they did.

Love

I’ve read different genres over the years. Horror. Mystery. Fantasy. But my mind would wander in those stories. I want romance. I want the character interactions. The attraction, the lust, the moment when it turns to never-apart love.

If I could transport myself to anywhere, it would be inside a romance novel. Would maybe even say a paranormal. I’m not picky, they don’t all have to sparkle. 😉

Love bites

What’s your favorite genre to read?

18 thoughts on “RB: Favorite Genre

    • Yes, I like it when a book has more than just the happily ever after plot. I need something else to worry about than if the hero and heroine will get together.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      -RB

  1. I used to read almost nothing but romance in high school, but the genre didn’t offer enough interesting variety to keep me hooked. I mostly stuck with historical and the occasional paranormal, but contemporary romance was very dull to me (at the time). It was a good run while it lasted, but my favorite genre will always be fantasy.

  2. Most people enjoy a good romance. Me too 🙂 I’m a bit picky about the romances I read – they have to be clean, the characters have to grow, and the plot must be more than boy meets girl and they live happily ever after.

    • Yes, romances are all about the happily ever after, but it’s still nice when the writer surprises me. Thanks for stopping by.

      -RB

  3. Every story I’ve ever written has a romance element. It draws me in and excites me like nothing else. I blame it all on Jane Austen (HA!).

    Leanne Ross ( readfaced.wordpress.com & @LeanneRossRF )

    • Jane Austen. 🙂 I’ve just started reading Austenland by Shannon Hale. Have you heard of it? It’s pretty good. I want to vacation at Pembrook Park! Oh, Mr. Darcy. 😉

      -RB

      • Austenland stays on my bedside table. It’s one of my “Go To” books…Like one of my Go To movies is Overboard. I can read/watch at anytime and from any point. I hope you enjoy it. Shannon Hale is a wonderful writer.

  4. I am following you from the blog hop. I like a little romance but it is not my first love. I love historical fiction, real life stories and non-fiction; real characters, real situations and how people deal with them. Since I am Christian – I look for redemption, and how God works in our lives.
    Blessings,
    Janis

    • I’ve tried to get into historical fiction. History was not my favorite subject in school and I thought reading that type of novel would be fantastic. Sadly, I could never get into them.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      -RB

  5. i’m with you on this. i love a good romance. i need some plot too, but if nobody’s falling in love then i’m usually disappointed. i’ve found in my own writing that romance must be involved or i can’t finish the story. i don’t mind sparkles either, but i like my vamps a bit meaner, like eric northman. 🙂

    • Sigh, Eric Northman… I wished he and Sookie would get together in the books (and stay together). I did like his character better in the novels than in the TV show, though.

      Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

      -RB

Leave a Reply

