RB: The person I see in the mirror

Have you ever read a book, a fiction book, that made you want to be a better person?

I’ve read plenty of novels over the years that stayed with me. There’ve been characters I couldn’t get out of my head for days, weeks, even years after I finished the last page—cough-Twilight-cough. But only a select few have made me question the person I am and the person I wish to be.

When I stop gazing in the mirror, I think of the author who wrote this book. How her collection of words on the pages were so powerful. That’s the type of writer I want to be.

I hope I am someday.

Meanwhile I will strive to overcome my imperfections and be a better person.

21 thoughts on “RB: The person I see in the mirror

  1. Sounds like I need to read or watch Divergent and I might get back on the exercise kick. And I loved Ranting Crow’s comment: Perfection is found in the flaws we possess.

    • I always feel the need to get in shape after I watch an episode of So You Think You Can Dance. Some of the moves those dancers perform are craaazy. 🙂 And yes, Ranting has some of the most beautiful comments. I love her quotes of the day, too, from her blog.

      -RB

  2. I’m going to echo what Angelle said above and say Erin Morgenstern as well; her words are just enchanting and I so wanted to be able to write like her. Or else Catherynne M. Valente, author of the Fairy Land series. I always fall in love with her writing.

  3. Reading The Night Circus took my breath away. Erin Morgenstern showed me how a romantic story is written. I still read my favorite parts and sigh. Caitlin Moran and Jenny Lawson taught me that it’s ok to be weird and myself. They’re non fiction, but thought I’d throw them in.

  4. Usually I find I want to do more things that aren’t possible. Cast fireballs or fly for instance. How about live in a cyberpunk future where I can have cybernetic limbs and such that make me more than what I am now.

      • The laser beams like cyclops can be cool because he gets to wear the cool glasses, but at the same time he can’t take the glasses off.

        Nightcrawler was always one of my favorite xmen. He was ambidextrous and could also use his tail to fight with a sword. Add in the teleportation and you could go anywhere super fast.

      • Storm is my favorite character from Xmen. I use to play a game with my brother and his friend when I was younger where I would say wind or rain then throw out my arms and they would react as if wind/rain/thunder was shooting from my hands. Very fun. Especially since my brother was older and loved to give me the Spock (Vulcan nerve pinch) for no reason at all.

        -RB

  5. I love stories like that too – after reading Divergent I started hitting the gym more often and taking out my day on the punching bag. That story brought out my inner bad a**. 🙂

  6. Ella: I find this so fascinating, because my mind doesn’t work this way at all. I only want to give the reader a good time. But then, I don’t think I’ve ever read a book and thought, “that character makes me want to be a better person.” Faster with a wisecrack, yes, but that usually backfires on me. 😉

  7. Perfection is found in the flaws we possess.
    And is it not the flaws we use to create our character. So we can be the good person.

    Ha ha i am as fractured as my mirror. but every piece is a part of me 😀
    keep smiling RB.

Leave a Reply

