RB: My Book Broke Up With Me

I recently finished the last book in a series.

 

sad

Yep. I was like this.

I didn’t know what to do. There were at least eight other ebooks on my Kindle I could start up, but my heart wasn’t in it. Nothing could replace those characters. Their story world had become mine. In my head, when I couldn’t sleep, I’d stop by the heroine’s book store and have a chat.

She liked me.

But when I read the last page, re-read the last sentence three times to prolong the inevitable, then slowly tapped out of the book, I closed my eyes tight and ran right over to her store. “Why are you breaking up with me? WHY?”

 

I do! I do give a shit. Please, I beg you. Don't leave me. I will do anything, ANYTHING!, for another book.

I do! I do give a shit. Please, I beg you. Don’t leave me. I will do anything, ANYTHING!, for another story. What about children? You guys were going to start a family. I want to be there!!

 

She didn’t answer me.

It’s been almost a week now. Things still aren’t the same. Yesterday after this song came on I decided to stop listening to the radio.

 

 

I can hold my breath
I can bite my tongue
I can stay awake for days
If that’s what you want
Be your number one

I can do it
I can do it
I can do it

But I’m only human
And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human
And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart
You build me up and then I fall apart
‘Cause I’m only human

*sniff* If they were human, I could totally stalk them. Then things would be okay. I wouldn’t do it all the time. Just once a day. Maybe twice.

*hides sob* But they aren’t . . .

 

How do you handle book break ups? 

 

13 thoughts on “RB: My Book Broke Up With Me

  1. Why was this so brilliant! Totally made my day. The same way you fall in love with movie stars because of character they played, we fall in love with the characters of the books we read. Even worse, books have more detail so we really invest in these characters ! You hit home with this one. I must admit, I never REALLY got over my first book love, which is probably why I re read it once a year, it’s like finding an old picture of a long lost love. Bittersweet indeed.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Sampler: August 31 | Classy Cat Books

  3. Haha! I loved this post! I can totally relate. I hate ending a series, too. It takes me a long time to finally get out of that world and even consider getting to know other characters.

  4. I have one series that I drop everything to read the books when they come out every year. Its great when the next book comes out but torture when I finish it because I have a whole year to wait for the next one.

      • For a long time, I would only read a series if the last book had come out. I thought I was safe with Terry Brookes Shanara series a number of years ago. I mean the series has been working for the past 30 and some odd years. The man keeps coming out with new books!

      • The GOT books’ plight is a reason I am glad I didn’t really get into them. I would hate to get wrapped up in that series and then have no end if he died before we reached that point.

        I am still debating on whether I want to check out the show or not. Based on what I read I think it is one I would enjoy more as a show than in the books.

  5. Ha ha ha. I guess this is the same as caring for characters in film. I try not to imagine it as a break up. I see it as a hopeful scenario that either takes them on an even greater adventure or better life.

Leave a Reply

