Guest Post : #Writer Samanthya Wyatt

Praise for SOMETHING MORE

“Very enjoyable story. I loved that it was unpredictable. Just when I thought the heroine was going to do one thing, she does something totally different. I look forward to more stories from Samanthya, I have no doubt they will be just as good as her first two!”

Dear Ella and RB, thank you for having me as a guest on 2unpubs.

Samanthya Wyatt

My morning usually starts with a cup of Java. If I’m lucky, hubby gets up first and brings me a cup of coffee in bed. Mmmm. What a way to greet the day!  Then I head to my laptop for a few precious moments of picking my brain.

I married a military man. We traveled the United States and abroad. He loves the mountains, so we settled in the Shenandoah Valley.

I’m so excited to be here. And I’m excited about my contemporary romance, SOMETHING MORE.

The setting is New York. The brooklyn_bridge_night_by_drae_lab-d5hrtjzbeautiful Brooklyn Bridge is on my cover. New York is a magnet, exuding power, and encases a very active life style. So I’ve created two strong characters with such a régime.

 

 

THE BLURB

A determined man, a headstrong woman, and a battle of wills.

Matthew longs for a woman to share his life, not his bank account. He owns a prestigious company that he rules with an iron fist. On his way to an important meeting, a light flirtation turns into more than he expects. He meets a woman with more confidence and strength than most men. Long legs get his attention, but Carrie attracts his interest. The alluring beauty does not need his money, and makes it clear she does not need him. He accepts the unspoken challenge.

Carrie trusts no man. An executive partner, she possesses a confidence that makes her assertive and her aggressiveness toward the male gender is somewhat intimidating. Until a pair of mischievous eyes melts her defenses, and has her second guessing her convictions. The day he shoved her into that cab he must have chiseled a chink in her armor. Matthew charges into her well organized life, cracks the stone wall she’s built and instills an emotion she swore never to allow.

Infatuation and excitement spark a journey of passion and forbidden emotion where two people must overcome their earlier convictions to find an everlasting love.

Usually I research and plan before creating a MS. But SOMETHING MORE happened one day while I was playing around to get my mind off edits of my first historical romance. I was in a fun mood and wrote a scene with two women bantering back and forth on a cruise ship. The words seemed to flow and I had a ball. I typed and laughed. Afterwards, I really felt good. So I ended up writing my first contemporary.

 Creating characters and bringing two people together in a romantic tale gives me great pleasure. The more I write, the more I become involved with my characters, and they seem to take a life of their own. All my characters are fictitious. Although, I have taken real life experiences to achieve the emotion for my heroes and heroines. I enjoy penning a story with strong characters, a bit of humor, and active scenes. Sometimes, I have so many ideas I can’t get them on paper fast enough.

Currently, I’m finishing up my third historical romance in the One and Only Series. Each of my books have a love story with a beginning and an end. My series are characters who were mentioned in the previous book of that series. I am also working on a Christmas contemporary involving a military hero. I’ve started a hunky fireman series, “The Firemen of Station 8.” For research, I interviewed some real fireman for background information to be as accurate as I can be. Can’t wait to get those published. Please visit my website for books and excerpts.

It’s been a whirlwind, that’s for sure. I don’t need to tell any writer how difficult it is to find time to put words to paper, let alone create them in your mind. I’ve spent a lot of late night hours on the weekends. Finally, my time is my own and I am able to write during the day—when I’m home. LOL. I keep the road hot. I go to soccer ball games, baseball games, football, cheer competition, or just babysit the wee ones.

Gosh, I love to read. Since I joined RWA, I’ve joined other chapters, made a lot of friends and found some great aspiring authors. I chat, exchange ideas and join in facebook parties. I love the beach. What better place to read than on the beach.

An Excerpt From SOMETHING MORE

She knew his kiss would be heaven. She didn’t think it would rob her of her senses once again.

Cool air hit her face the moment he pulled away. Matthew drained half of his beer and stood looking across the lawn. For the first time in her life, Carrie was at a loss for words. She wished she could read his mind.

Why did he stop? What is he thinking?

After several moments, Matthew donned his shirt as if nothing happened. He spoke of a plan to finish the kitchen. She saw his mouth move and heard the words being said, but her mind kept reliving the kiss they’d just shared.

His bottle empty, he asked, “Are you ready?”

Am I ever. And I’m not thinking about painting the kitchen.

They went back inside and he once again took his place on the ladder.

“At the rate I was going, it would have taken me a week.” Her voice came out as a breathless gasp. His body went still. Little tremors of warmth danced in her belly. “Thank you, Matthew. I’m glad you’re here.” Hearing her own words made her realize how much she meant them.

“The pleasure is mine.” His gruff voice made her wonder at the reason behind it.

“Matthew. Look at me.”

When he did, his jaw was tight and his eyes had a strained look. They stared at each other for long moments.

“Why did you stop?”

“Stop what?”

He knew exactly what she meant.

“The kiss . . . on the patio.”

“Ah, to hell with this.” He slammed the brush down on the pan and jumped the two steps off the ladder. “Come here.” He groaned and pulled her into his arms.

He kissed her with a hunger so fierce her mind reeled from the intensity. Right now, at this moment, the only thing she wanted was to be in Matthew’s arms. She kissed him back with everything she had, drowning in the pleasure of him. Passion flared between them and the more they kissed, the higher the fire burned.

His hands molded her breasts while his mouth moved to the pulse at her neck. His teeth nipped and his wet tongue laved and soothed and twirled making her crazy.

“You would pick now when I’m all hot and sweaty.”

“I like hot,” he breathed. “Besides, I’m sweaty too.”

“Sweaty on you is sexy. But I need a shower.”

His mouth slid down her jaw to the vein just below her ear. His lips sent wonderful vibrations on her sensitive flesh. “How about we take one together.”

updatedSomethingMore850HIGH

To read more on Samanthya Wyatt, please visit her website.

 

 

Leave a Reply

