RB: Favorite Part of Writing

For years, every step of the writing process has brought me joy and pain.

PRE-WRITING

Joy: Hearing characters’ voices for first time. There’s nothing better than hearing voices in my head. 😉

Joy: Unrestricted creativity. I have the freedom to think and write what I want.

shirley-temple

If I’m suddenly inspired to give my hero a Shirley Temple tattoo on his ass cheek because he loves animal crackers in his soup… (Image found here.)

conan-the-barbarian-21-6-10-kc

…now is not the time to worry about the fact that it won’t fit in with his Conan the Barbarian personality. (Image found here.)

Pain: Anxiousness. Muse’s angst during this phase is out of this world. He just wants to start writing. Now. Now. NOW!

My muse has the patience of a toddler sitting in front of a piece of cake who was told to wait until everyone else was served before you start eating.

My muse has the patience of a toddler sitting in front of a piece of cake who was told to wait until everyone else was served before he could start eating. (Image found here.)

DRAFTING

Joy: The story begins to unfold. Muse is finally sprung free. Yeah!

Joy: Hidden plot twists. I love it when characters put themselves in situations we had not discussed in the pre-writing stage. To me, at this point, I’m a writer with a capital W. My magic has finally appeared. Writing is no longer something that I do. It’s what I am.

 Pain: Hidden plot twists. I am now Muse’s bitch. (See post here.)

 EDITING

Joy: Sense of accomplishment. Stepping back to gaze at the final piece. . . there’s nothing like it.

Pain: Having to go back and edit out the hero’s ass tattoo. (That was a cute tattoo, dammit!)

Pain: The arduous, tedious, and oh-my-God-will-this-never-END edits.

clueparamount

I hated it… so… much, It–it..the f–, it–flame…flames…flames on the side of my face, breathing, breath… heaving, breaths… heaving…

Until recently, all parts of writing had its ups and downs.

Then I read a really great, can-I-give-it-more-than-five-stars novel and was super charged. Muse was a’stirring. He wanted me to stop what I was doing, open up my Mac, and start writing. Right. Then.

I freakin’ wanting to, too.

FINDING INSPIRATION

Joy: Thrill of new ideas.

Joy: The top-of-a-roller-coaster, heart pounding feeling that says there is only one way this will stop…fingers on the keyboard.

Joy: Adrenaline rushing through the body. It calls, BEGS, me to bring to life the words and emotions flying around in my head.

Joy: The undenying reality that this fever, which may be forgotten during some stages, will never, ever, completely die.

I will create. I will enthrall. I will write.

Leave a Reply

