RB: Waterfalls, Mosquito Bites, and Antique Guns, Oh My

My vacation is officially over. It’s a sad, sad affair. But I enjoyed my time off and since I’m not ready (or eager) to jump back into the real world, I’m going to re-live my glory days and share a few highlights of the past month.

**Edited three hundred and ninety-four pages. Twice. Fallen Darkness, Book 2 of The Trihune Series is due out in September. Yeah! Stay tuned to 2unpubs of more information.

**Read seventeen books. Here are two of my favorites:

RomanticFiction

WhenYouMakeItHome

 

**Navigated a boat (and by navigate, I mean stood by the stern of the ship in my red garbage bag and hung on tight) through the high, rocky seas. . . or, you know, the Niagara River.

IMG_1373

 

IMG_3831

 

**Robbed a bank with my outlawing family, then stopped for a photo moment in a nearby saloon.

20150721-20150721-DSC_1481

 

20150721-20150721-DSC_1500

 

**Won a kayaking race . . . against my eleven year old niece . . . Sorry, Eleven. Next time I promise not to accidentally on purpose run into your boat, which almost tipped you over, just to get ahead.

 

**Lost a fight with a few mosquitoes.

 

 

 

IMG_1775

 

**Ruined two pairs of shoes at Glen Arbor.

IMG_1771

Lost this one’s mate in Crystal River.

 

IMG_1850

Walking on extremely hot sand for a long period of time is not conducive with flip flop wearing.

 

**Figured out that a mixture of Luriderm Advanced Therapy Lotion and Hawaiian Tropic After Sun Care creates a fantastic sunburn remedy. Or, perhaps it’s the large glass of wine and two Aleves…

 

**Confirmed my intense dislike of all things insect-y (even the pretty looking ones) at the Butterfly Conservatory.

IMG_3940

Yes, you’re very cute. But get off. Get off. Get off. Get off.

 

Seriously, the sucker would NOT leave!

 

**Acquired serious couch potato skills by binge watching The Gates, Moonlight, and Kindred: the Embraced.

 

**Survived the dunes with Ella. We proved our prowess by choosing one of the hottest days of our vacation to travel the 3.5 (roundtrip) miles to Lake Michigan. We’re bad assess.

IMG_1792

This doesn’t look so bad.

 

Hmm, this is a cute little sign.

Hmm  . . .  I’m sure we’ll be fine.

 

Oh, look it keeps on going.

Oh, look it keeps on going.

 

and going...

and going…

 

IMG_1826

and going…

 

IMG_1827

I think it’s just around the next bend up there…

 

IMG_1830

Please, dear God, make it stop.

 

Me: Finally. Made it. See, Ella, that wasn't so bad. Ella: Except we do have to walk back. Me: Oh, shit, I didn't think about that.

Me: Finally. Made it. See, Ella, that wasn’t so bad.
Ella: Except we have to walk back.
Me: Shit, I didn’t think about that.

 

**Learned that thirty-one days can absolutely fly by when I’m having fun.

1436809681884

 

IMG_3776

 

IMG_3781

 

IMG_1814

 

IMG_1777

 

IMG_1880

 

 

IMG_3793

 

20150721-20150721-DSC_1526

 

 

It’s good to be back with you on a regular basis, 2unpub-ers. Did you do anything fun this summer?

2 thoughts on “RB: Waterfalls, Mosquito Bites, and Antique Guns, Oh My

Leave a Reply

