Madelyn Hill on Weather, Writing, and Soup.

Madelyn Hill stopped by 2unpubs to dish about her favorite season and her new – and absolutely awesome – Highlander release.

Carry on, dear Madelyn. 🙂

My favorite season is fall. I love the crisp weather, sweaters, and soup. In my opinion, you just can’t eat soup in the summer. As a teacher, fall is a hectic time of year, but there is something invigorating about cooling weather, football, and falling leaves.

One thing I like to do in the fall is a bit of house cleaning—literally and figuratively. I switch out summer clothes for fall and winter clothes and start winterizing the house (a necessity in Western NY). I also look at my goals for the year, kinda like New Year’s Resolutions, but my goals include more than losing twenty pounds.

I like to look at my works in progress (WIP), set some hard timelines for their completion and get them moving. In regards to WIP, I will see what is stopping them from moving forward and do some research or major editing in order to get them going. I find if I stop one story to go work on another, it is sometimes hard to get back into the first story, no matter how much I want to.

There are also those idea folders sitting on my hard drive just waiting for me to finish my WIPs and get them started. If I’m really stuck on my WIP, I’ll start researching for my next story and sometimes this helps push the cobwebs away and inspiration sparks again. There is so much excitement when starting a new story and I think that excitement is contagious and can help with other stories.

The only thing I hate about fall is it leads to winter – ah, winter in Wester NY is harsh and relentless – but graciously leads to spring!

What is your favorite season?

 

MadelynPhotograph

 

Dying to learn more about Madelyn and her novels? Visit her website. She’s also been spotted on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

And now, info on her newest release: A medieval, Scottish romance!

Forced to wed to save her clan, Lady Rogan Cameron agrees to wed without love.

What her father doesn’t know is Lady Rogan has plans of her own—plans to keep her from a loveless marriage. Can she save the clan before she has to say “I do?”

Ian Albright abolished all ties to Scotland after his family betrayed him and he is now nursing a wounded ego due to an unfaithful fiancée. He pledges never to return to his home until the fateful day he accepts an invitation to his dear cousin’s wedding. The minute he sees his cousin’s betrothed, his heart is captured. If only she didn’t belong to another . . .

Lady Rogan and Ian have known each other since they were young and bent on vexing each other. Now, the only thing they find vexing is the fact Rogan is betrothed to another. Together they fight their growing attraction while investigating the forces bedeviling the clan. Yet at every turn their foe appears and wreaks havoc. When tragedy strikes, their hopes are dashed again.

Can Lady Rogan and Ian’s love win when fate seems determined to keep them apart?

 

Heather in the Mist available at Amazon.

heatherinthemist (200)

2 thoughts on “Madelyn Hill on Weather, Writing, and Soup.

  1. Madelyn, I had to laugh when you mentioned not eating soup in the summer. I was craving chili this summer and wanted to make a batch, but my husband refused to eat soup in the summer. For me, when I want chili, I just want chili 😉 But fall is definitely the best. There is nothing like sweatshirt weather!! And the colors are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

