So how many books are too many? What is too few?

I read 154 books in 2015.

5976b56b81800561f1245b4276973674

I’m not sure if I should be proud of that number.

Is that a lot of books?

Too few?

In case you didn’t guess, 2015 was the first year I kept track of my reading habits. I did it on a whim. Wanted to know how many books I read in a year.

To make sure I was accurately recording, I went so far as to put a daily reminder on my phone.

Book on Goodreads?

Keeping track was a pain at first. I just wanted to read. (No, you’re not imagining the whine in that statement.) And I’ve been looking forward to just reading again. Not analyzing. Not recording. Accept . . . I’ve been thinking.

I should keep track of my books again this year. Then, also, in 2017, just so I can get an average and make comparisons. Then I wonder, does anyone else do things like this? Record useless information just to answer the question of too many or too few? Perhaps I’m a bit cray-cray? Need to get a life? Not obsess about things that have no real consequence on my life?

*Dollhouse theme song plays* Book on Goodreads?

Opps, gotta go. Time to update my current “read” status.

10 thoughts on “So how many books are too many? What is too few?

  1. I wish I could read that many books in a year. I was proud of myself for completing my Goodreads challenge of 18 books (actually I beat that total by one and read 19 books last year). But it was way more than the four or five books I read the year before. I just don’t have as much time as I would like for reading. But, since I have so many books I would like to read, I’m going to have to make more time this year. 🙂

    • I thought about joining a Goodreads challenge this year, but I’m still not sure… I feel like then reading would become just one more thing I have to check off on my to-do list. And I already have a big to-do list. Lol.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 😊

      RB

  2. I’ve never kept track of how many books I read each year, but about 5 years ago starting writing the titles and authors of each book read, sometimes with a very brief comment about the story, how well I liked it. Now I’m trying to organize my list by author, but that’s cornflakes out of the box. I read a lot by most standards, maybe 50 – 60 books a year but no way could I match your list. I mean, I have to allow plenty of time for falling asleep over the pages.
    What was your favorite book? What’s your favorite genre?

    • I love paranormal romances! Can’t get enough of them.

      I had so many favorite books during 2015, it’s hard to choose just one. But my two favorite authors last year were Penny Reid (Knitting in the City series) and Mimi Strong (Peaches Monroe series). Although neither of them write paranormal, lol.

      RB

  3. I don’t think there can ever be such a thing as “too many books.” I read around 20 books last year so at least I’d be very proud to have reached your number! Keeping track is nice so you should definitely continue. If nothing else, you can look back and remember all the great stories you encountered during the year.

Leave a Reply

