Me After “After You” #MyHeartHurts

(If you missed my post on Me Before You, go here first.) 

Well, I didn’t break down this time. My Kleenex box is still half full. And I’m thankfully headache-free.

But my breath had caught a lot. There were many heart-wrenching moments. A couple spots where tears filled my eyes. Then there was this line, oh this line, and the tears grew too large to be contained: “Her smile was like his.”

I mourned alongside Lou with every single page. My emotions see-sawed back and forth just like hers. Heart breaking in one to shoddily repaired in the next where I was able to manage a smile maybe even a hoarse chuckle. And I have to say once again, damn, that was a good fucking book.

Leave a Reply

