My Star Checklist, Because I’m Slightly Neurotic.

I’ve been cataloging the books I read via Goodreads for the past two years. In the beginning, I tried to review most of them. As time went on, the desire to find my next read outweighed the duty I felt to leave a review and I just started marking stars. 

Soon even that began to take time as I contemplated what the difference was between a 3-star novel and a 5-star one. So, I created RB’s Star Checklist. A book will receive one star for each of the following:

gold_star-svg

The book caught my interest in first five pages.

Gold Star

I thought about the book when I was forced to set it down and re-enter society.

No info dumps or poor writing or grammar spelling copy edit mistakes that jerked me out of the story

There were no info dumps, poor writing, or copy edit mistakes that jerked me out of the story.

4. I was sad when the book ended. I want more of these two!! Even if it's just about them sitting in the couch arguing about which Netflix show to watch and the fight ends with really great make up sex. 

I was sad when the book ended. I want more!!

5. That's it. I'm hooked on this author I will automatically buy anything she/he writes.

That’s it. I’m hooked on this author I will automatically buy anything s/he writes.

 

Do you have a review system? I’d love to hear about it. How do you differentiate between a 3-, 4-, or 5-star novel?

 

Leave a Reply

